Aviane Birth Control Reviews

Published
Aviane Birth Control Reviews
Middle age sportswoman asking for health care holding heart at the park

Many readers are interested in the following topic: Birth control pill brands: What options are there. We are happy to note, that our authors have already studied the modern research about the topic you are interested in. Based on the information provided in the latest medical digests, modern research and surveys, we provide extensive answer. Keep reading to find out more.

A 2012 study found that drospirenone may also help treat premenstrual dysphoric disorder (PMDD), a severe type of premenstrual syndrome.

User Reviews for Aviane to treat Birth Control

Aviane has an average rating of 6.3 out of 10 from a total of 456 reviews for the treatment of Birth Control. 47% of reviewers reported a positive experience, while 26% reported a negative experience.

Aviane rating summary

6.3 /10 average rating

456 ratings from 480 user reviews.

Compare all 270 medications used in the treatment of Birth Control.

Reviews for Aviane

D 路 Taken for 1 to 6 months 路 December 24, 2020

“The first birth control that I鈥檝e been prescribed and no problems whatsoever. At first, I was skeptical because of the common side effects and the negative reviews, but this brand has made my periods shorter and lighter (and no babies haha). The only side effect I have gotten is my boobs growing in size, but I ain鈥檛 got a problem with that lmao. I would highly recommend giving it a try 馃檪 *I鈥檝e been on it for a little over 3 months now*”

10 / 10
Was this helpful? YesNo
KD2000 路 Taken for 1 to 6 months 路 January 17, 2022

“I have had a great experience with this medication so far. I started Aviane ( Levonorgestrel/Ethinyl Estradiol 0.1mg/0.02mg) a little over a month ago. I was prescribed by a telehealth care provider and was initially very skeptical because of all of the negative reviews here but so far so good ! I did get bloated the first 2-3 weeks and gained like 4 lbs in water weight but I drank lots of water and ate clean and exercised regularly now I am at my normal weight again. The first week I started , I did get some headaches but nothing too bad. During the placebo week , I decided to skip the placebo pills and move on to my next pack to skip my period but I started bleeding anyways and bled for about 10 days. I know that breakthrough bleeding is one of the side effects so I was not too alarmed. My sex drive has been way better and my mood swings have kind of settled down. Please do not let these reviews scare you; try it for yourself. Each body is unique and reacts differently.”

10 / 10
Was this helpful? YesNo
Ms. J 路 October 25, 2008

“I first started taking Aviane in 2005 when Alesse was no longer offered. I loved it then and I love it now. I have no complaints about it. I recently started taking it again two months ago and it works the same. Little side effects. What I love best is I have not gained any weight as I have before on other pills. So before you listen to anyone else do your research and try it out for yourself. Hope this helps someone.”

10 / 10
Was this helpful? YesNo
Nicole 路 Taken for 6 months to 1 year 路 December 16, 2019

“DO NOT USE! Not only does this birth control NOT WORK, it has horrible side effects, not just on me, but on my roommates who were also prescribed it. We went together and got prescribed Aviane for birth control. Since being prescribed Aviane, I’ve been extremely irritable, hormonal, angry, depressed, and I am easier to lash out on people for no reason. I’ve gained A LOT of weight and worst of all, I’m covered in cystic acne all over my face, neck, back, and thighs – sometimes on my bum too – I’VE NEVER GOTTEN ACNE BEFORE TAKING AVIANE. and on top of that, I’m 1 month pregnant, even though I took the pill every day, on time, exactly how I was supposed to. My roommates have experienced all the same things. One of them got pregnant 2 months after they started taking it, another gained almost 50 pounds in only a few months, and don’t even get me going about all of our acne problems. LADIES: DO NOT USE. Aviane birth control doesn’t work you could end up pregnant. “

1 / 10
Was this helpful? YesNo
Anonymous 路 June 10, 2010

“I have been on many different birth controls, Ortho Tri-Cyclen, Yaz, Yasmin, Mercette, and this is by far the best. Initially when you start it the first few month you may experience breakthrough bleeding but this stops by month three. I usually take it around the same time everyday which prevents spotting. It has cleared up my skin for the most part besides that occasional pimple before my period. My mood swings are the best on this pill, and there is absolutely no weight gain or off balance of hormones where you feel the side effects of taking hormones. I recommend this birth control to anyone but just be patient with the adjustment it takes to get acclimated to your body.”

9 / 10
Was this helpful? YesNo

Are you taking this medicine?

  • Add your review
  • Learn more about Aviane

Emma 路 Taken for 1 to 6 months 路 October 8, 2019

“Aviane is by far the best birth control I鈥檝e tried!! I was using Tri-Cyclen and that was the worst time of my life. I was horribly depressed, moody, ovarian cysts would rupture and send me to the E.R., my acne was bad, gained 25 pounds, and my hair was falling out in giant clumps. It made me afraid to try birth control again. My doctor suggested Aviane because it鈥檚 very low dose and would better suit my body. Best decision ever. I have perfect skin, keep losing weight, NO MOOD SWINGS, plus I won鈥檛 get pregnant. It鈥檚 the best birth control out there.”

Birth control pill brands: What options are there?

Birth control pills are medications that help prevent pregnancy. They contain synthetic hormones. Some pills contain estrogen and progestin, others only progestin.

Birth control pill brands represented by pill pack in close up and isolated over blue background

Several types of birth control pills are available. Everyone has different needs, so it is important to speak with a healthcare professional about the different options.

Birth control pills typically contain progestin, estrogen, or a combination.

Keep reading to learn about the different birth control pill options and their advantages and disadvantages.

Combined birth control pills contain both progestin and estrogen. Different pills can help a person avoid pregnancy by preventing ovulation, thickening the cervical mucus, and thinning the uterus lining called the endometrium.

Progestin-only pills prevent pregnancy by thickening the cervical mucus, making it difficult for sperm to enter the uterus. They also thin the endometrium. About 40% of people who use progestin-only pills continue to ovulate.

Most commercially available oral birth control pills contain a combination of estrogen and progestin.

Each birth control pill brand may contain different dosages of estrogen and different types of progestin. A doctor can help a person decide which option is best for them.

According to a 2015 journal article , most combination birth control pills contain ethinylestradiol, and dosages vary between 20鈥35 micrograms (mcg).

Types of progestin in combination pills

Combination birth control pills contain different types of progestin. Manufacturers list the dosage in milligrams (mg) or mcg.

Progestin can cause increased water and salt retention, leading to bloating.

Some progestins act as androgens. High levels of androgens can play a role in acne and excess hair growth. This may concern someone who wants to use a birth control pill to help reduce acne or excess hair growth. However, not all birth control pills cause these side effects.

Currently, no data indicate that any pill is more effective than another at reducing acne or excess hair growth.

Desogestrel

Some people may prefer a birth control pill containing the progestin desogestrel. It may help reduce excess hair growth and acne somewhat better than other pills.

Combination birth control pills that contain desogestrel include:

  • Apri (150 mcg desogestrel, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Azurette (150 mcg desogestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Kariva (150 mcg desogestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Mircette (150 mcg desogestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Reclipsen (150 mcg desogestrel, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)

Some birth control pills contain the same drugs in the same dosages but have different names. For example, a doctor may prescribe Azurette and Kariva or Reclipsen and Apri interchangeably because they contain the same active ingredients.

Desogestrel birth control may cause symptoms associated with hormonal birth control, such as a headache, upset stomach, mood changes, weight gain, high blood pressure, and an increased risk of blood clots.

The medication a doctor recommends may depend on insurance coverage and drug availability.

Drospirenone

Some people prefer birth control pills containing progestin drospirenone because they have diuretic properties, which help prevent bloating.

According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) , drospirenone may increase the risk of blood clots. However, according to The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this risk is low.

A 2012 study found that drospirenone may also help treat premenstrual dysphoric disorder (PMDD), a severe type of premenstrual syndrome.

Birth control brands that contain drospirenone include:

  • Gianvi (3 mg drospirenone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Loryna (3 mg drospirenone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Ocella (3 mg drospirenone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Syeda (3 mg drospirenone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Yasmin (3 mg drospirenone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Yaz (3 mg drospirenone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Zarah (3 mg drospirenone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)

Levonorgestrel

Birth control pills containing levonorgestrel appear to have a lower risk of side effects, such as blood clots, than pills containing other types of progestin.

However, there is always the risk of some side effects with hormonal birth control.

Doctors consider pills containing levonorgestrel and ethinylestradiol to be an effective first-line treatment .

Pills that contain levonorgestrel include:

  • Aviane (100 mcg levonorgestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Lessina (100 mcg levonorgestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Levora (150 mcg levonorgestrel, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Lutera (100 mcg levonorgestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Portia (150 mcg levonorgestrel, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Sronyx (100 mcg levonorgestrel, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)

Norethindrone

Norethindrone is a progestin that comes from testosterone.

People who take birth control pills containing norethindrone may experience side effects such as excess hair growth and acne. If this occurs, a doctor may recommend a different birth control pill.

Birth control pills that contain norethindrone include:

  • Balziva (400 mcg norethindrone, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Junel 1/20 (1 mg norethindrone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Junel 1.5/30 (1.5 mg norethindrone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Loestrin 1/20 (1 mg norethindrone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Loestrin 1.5/30 (1.5 mg norethindrone, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Microgestin 1/20 (1 mg norethindrone, 20 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Necon (500 mcg norethindrone, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Nortrel 0.5/35 (500 mcg norethindrone, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Nortrel 1/35 (1 mg norethindrone, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Ortho-Novum 1/35 (1 mg norethindrone, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)

Norgestimate and norgestrel

People who use birth control pills containing norgestimate or norgestrel may also experience androgenic side effects, such as excess hair growth and acne.

Some brands containing these hormones include:

  • Cryselle (300 mcg norgestrel, 30 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Ortho-Cyclen (250 mcg norgestimate, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Previfem (250 mcg norgestimate, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)
  • Sprintec (250 mcg norgestimate, 35 mcg ethinylestradiol)

Each packet of extended cycle pills, such as Seasonique, contains 12 weeks of combined hormonal birth control. Packets also contain 1 week of placebo or low-dose ethinylestradiol.

Some people prefer this approach because it means they only get a period every 3 months. People wishing to delay their period longer using this method can do so safely for up to 12 months .

As with other birth control pills, extended cycle pills also come with a risk of side effects .

Each packet of triphasic birth control contains 21 days of pills containing different dosages of estrogen and progestin each week.

An example of a triphasic pill is Ortho-Tri-Cyclen. Each pill contains 35 mcg of ethinylestradiol. The dosage of norgestimate increases each week, imitating the natural changes of hormones throughout the menstrual cycle.

Triphasic birth control aims to reduce side effects by mimicking the natural fluctuation of hormones throughout the menstrual cycle.

However, there is limited research on whether triphasic pills cause fewer side effects than monophasic pills.

Healthcare professionals tend not to prescribe triphasic types of birth control. According to an older 2011 study, they do not appear to be more effective than standard monophasic birth control pills.

Monophasic pills provide the same amounts of hormones for 21 days, followed by 1 week of placebo.

Anyone who cannot tolerate estrogen may consider taking progestin-only pills.

Micronor, which contains norethindrone, and Slynd, which contains drospirenone, are two brand-name examples.

Micronor may suit people who experience side effects on combination birth control pills.

However, Micronor contains norethindrone, which may cause side effects that include excess hair growth and acne.